SIG on Energy-harvesting Cognitive Radio Networks

Scope and Objectives

Energy-efficiency is one of the critical aspects for the successful design and deployment of the fifth generation (5G) and beyond wireless networks. The key idea is to support the efficient utilization of the available energy so as to significantly increase the network device lifetime (up to 10 years for low-power IoT devices) and drive down operational expenditure by several order of magnitude. Various types of wireless networks like wireless ad-hoc and sensor networks, device-to-device (D2D) communications, machine-type communications, and IoT, are energy-constrained since the network devices are powered by batteries. As such, to maintain network connectivity, the devices will need periodic replacement or recharging of batteries which would be expensive, inconvenient, and problematic in future ultra-dense networks. Furthermore, infrastructure-based wireless networks that are supplemented by a continuous power supply, e.g., cellular networks, require access to an electric power grid and thereby incurring high energy consumption that will further increase with growing requirements of devices and data traffic. Hence, there is a great need to develop energy efficient
architectures and transmission techniques/protocols that extend the lifetime of networks and provide significant energy savings under the aegis of green radio communications. Recently, there has been significant interest in integrating energy harvesting (EH) technologies into cognitive
radio networks (CRNs). In this SIG group, we aim to provide a platform to further investigate the development of EH CRNs, proposing new efficient protocols and techniques. We will capitalize on the complementary goals of energy- and spectral-efficiency enabled by EH CRNs to support high
data rate, high availability and secure wireless communication networks.


Daniel Benevides da Costa, Federal University of Ceará (UFC), Brazil


Octavia Dobre, Memorial University, Canada
Trung Q. Duong, Queen’s University Belfast, UK
Minghua Xia, Sun Yat-sen University, China
Phee Lep Yeoh, University of Sydney, Australia

Founding Members

Prabhat K. Upadhyay, Indian Institute of Technology (IIT) Indore, India
Georges Kaddoum, École de technologie supérieure (ETS), Canadá
Nan Yang, Australian National University, Australia
Jules Moualeu, University of the Witwatersrand, South Africa
Marco Di Renzo, Paris-Saclay University/CNRS, France
Alexandros-Apostolos A. Boulogeorgos, Aristotle University of Thessaloniki, Greece
Haiyang Ding, XIdian University, China
Himal A. Suraweera, University of Peradeniya, Sri Lanka
Ugo Silva Dias, University of Brasília, Brazil
Zhiguo Ding, Lancaster University, UK
Petros Bithas, University of Piraeus, Greece
Athanasios G. Kanatas, University of Piraeus, Greece
Mustapha Benjillali, INPT, Morocco

Full Proposal