Prof. Ying-Chang Liang

for his outstanding contributions to cognitive radio research and meritorious services to the cognitive network community

Call for Nominations

IEEE ComSoc Technical Committee on Cognitive Networks (TCCN) sponsors the “2018 IEEE ComSoc TCCN Recognition Award”.

TCCN Recognition Award Committee

Ekram Hossain (University of Manitoba, Canada)

Shuguang Cui (University of California, Davis, USA)
Narayan B. Mandayam (Rutgers University, USA)
H. Vincent Poor (Princeton University, USA)
Qian Zhang (Hong Kong University of Science and Technology, China)


The recognition award is given to (up to) one individual who is deemed to have made significant and sustained contributions to cognitive network community. The intent is to recognize contributions over a period of time via any of the following modalities including combinations thereof:

  • Technical or scholarly leadership as evidenced by contributions to standards, patents, leading research, and/or significant project management;
  • Meritorious service to the cognitive network community inclusive of IEEE ComSoc, industry and government policy.


The serving TCCN TC Chair, Vice‐Chairs, and Secretary are not eligible for any award. A member of the award committee is not eligible for any TCCN award in the same award cycle. TC Chair, Vice‐chairs, Secretary, award committee members, as well as any sitting ComSoc officer (President and VPs) cannot nominate and/or endorse candidates for the award.

Nomination Process

For each nomination, both the nominator and the nominee must be members of IEEE ComSoc. The nominator should send the nomination to the TCCN Recognition Award Committee Chair (Prof. Ekram Hossain: in PDF format by August 15, 2018 (anywhere on earth). A nomination must include a short CV of the nominee (no more than 5 pages), copies of supporting materials, and an advocacy statement by the nominator (no more than 300 words) detailing the reasons for nomination. No late and no self-­nominations will be considered.

Award Announcement

The selected award recipient(s) will be informed via e-mail of the selection by October 15, 2018. The award ceremony will take place in IEEE GLOBECOM 2018.

Procedures & Process