Prof. Octavia Dobre

for outstanding contributions to cognitive radio communications and networking

Call for Nominations

IEEE ComSoc Technical Committee on Cognitive Networks (TCCN) sponsors the “2022 IEEE ComSoc TCCN Recognition Award”.

Deadline: September 30, 2022 ET

TCCN Recognition Award Committee

Wei Zhang (University of New South Wales, Sydney, Australia)

Danijela Cabric (University of California, Los Angeles, USA)
Luiz DaSilva (Virginia Tech, USA)
Geoffrey Ye Li (Imperial College London, UK)
Angela Yingjun Zhang (Chinese University of Hong Kong, China)


The recognition award is given to (up to) one individual who is deemed to have made significant and sustained contributions to cognitive network community. The intent is to recognize contributions over a period of time via any of the following modalities including combinations thereof: Technical or scholarly leadership as evidenced by contributions to standards, patents, leading research, and/or significant project management; Meritorious service to the cognitive network community inclusive of IEEE ComSoc, industry and government policy.


The serving TCCN TC Chair, Vice‐Chairs, and Secretary are not eligible for any award. A member of the award committee is not eligible for any TCCN award in the same award cycle. The serving TCCN TC Chair, Vice‐Chairs, Secretary, award committee members, ComSoc President and VPs cannot nominate and/or endorse candidates for the award.

Nomination Process

For each nomination, both the nominator and the nominee must be members of IEEE ComSoc. The nominator should send the nomination to the TCCN Recognition Award Committee Chair (Prof. Wei Zhang, Email: in PDF format by September 30, 2022. Self-nomination is not allowed. A nomination must include a brief CV of the nominee, copies of supporting materials that form the basis for the nomination, and an advocacy statement by the nominator (no more than 300 words) detailing the reasons for the nomination.

Award Announcement

The selected award recipient(s) will be informed via e-mail of the selection by October 15, 2022. The award ceremony will be scheduled in Globecom 2022 or later.